Call us directly: +353 (0)94 986 0305
The Square, Ballaghaderreen, Co. Roscommon, View on Map
Email us, click here
Ballaghaderreen Mayo Club Stars 2012

Local Ballaghaderreen News

Ballaghaderreen midfielder named Mayo Senior Player of the Year at Clubstars banquet

This article originally appeared on Mid West Radio. Click here for the original article.

Ballaghaderreen's James KilcullenBallaghaderreen midfielder James Kilcullen was named the Mayo Senior Football Championship Player of the Year at the eighth annual Mayo News/O’Neills Club Stars Charity Banquet in Knockranny House Hotel, Westport, Saturday 15th December.

Kilcullen beat off stiff opposition from club-mate Barry Regan and Ballintubber’s Alan Dillon to win the coveted Willie McNeely Perpetual Trophy.

Charlestown’s Tony Mulligan was named as the Intermediate Player of the Year, Sean Cosgrove from The Neale won the Junior Championship equivalent, while Rory Byrne, from Castlebar Mitchels, was the winner of the inaugural Rising Star/Young Player of the Year accolade.

James Kilcullen was also named at midfield on the Club Stars Team of the Year, and was one of seven Ballaghaderreen players in the 20 individuals honoured.

Stephen Drake, Keith Rogers, David Drake, David Kilcullen and Barry Regan were also named in the first fifteen, while Barry Kelly was one of the five replacements chosen.

Beaten county finalists had five players singled out for the Team of the Year: goalkeeper Brendan Walsh, defenders Cathal Hallinan and Tom Earley, midfielder Jason Gibbons, and All Star Alan Dillon were all picked by the Club Stars judges, Eamonn Clarke, Sean Rice, Austin Garvin and John Casey.

County Intermediate champions, Charlestown, saw David Caffrey and Tony Mulligan both selected on the Team of the Year, while Knockmore duo Aidan Kilcoyne and Shane McHale, Alan Murphy from Ballinrobe, Crossmolina’s Cathal Carolan and Brian Gallagher from Claremorris also forced their way into the 20 players that won awards.

Barry Regan from Ballaghaderreen also picked up the Golden Boot award for top scorer in the Mayo Senior Football Championship while Ballinrobe’s Alan Murphy was the Joint Top scorer from play.

In the Intermediate Championship, Joey Maloney from Kilmaine was the Overall Top Scorer, while Darren Coen from Hollymount/Carramore was the Top Scorer From Play.

Well-known referee, Kevin Connelly, from Hollymount/Carramore was the winner of the ‘Personality of the Year’ award while Moy Davitts and The Neale GAA clubs both won Special Achievement awards after enjoying historic seasons in 2012.

Club Stars 2012 Team:

1 Brendan Walsh (Ballintubber)

2 Stephen Drake (Ballaghaderreen)

3 Cathal Hallinan (Ballintubber)

4 David Caffrey (Charlestown)

5 Tom Earley (Ballintubber)

6 Keith Rogers (Ballaghaderreen)

7 David Drake (Ballaghaderreen)

8 James Kilcullen (Ballaghaderreen)

9 Jason Gibbons (Ballintubber)

10 David Kilcullen (Ballaghaderreen)

11 Alan Dillon (Ballintubber)

12 Aidan Kilcoyne (Knockmore)

13 Barry Regan (Ballaghaderreen)

14 Tony Mulligan (Charlestown)

15 Alan Murphy (Ballinrobe)


16 Shane McHale (Knockmore)

17 Barry Kelly (Ballaghaderreen)

18 Tom Parsons (Charlestown)

19 Cathal Carolan (Crossmolina)

20 Brian Gallagher (Claremorris)

Manager of the Year :

Mark Dowd (Ballaghaderreen)